Pride & Prejudice

I’ve heard of Pride and Prejudice years back for a couple of times without having the least bit idea what it’s all about. I’ve never seen it being shown in the cinemas nor a year later on TV so it quickly escaped my mind.

September 28th, 2012 – Friday

Watching the 2005 film of Pride and Prejudice was simply an accident. I had been flipping channels last week due to boredom in the hope of finding a pleasant entertainment. I stopped on the Diva Universal channel because the picture instantly caught me. It was showing this girl who was playing the piano at the far end of a room. The camera walks into the hall and three other girls pop out and two of them run across the room. I thought it was a TV series like Downton Abbey and wanted to know what it was all about because it looked so interesting so I decided to stick around and figure it out. It hit me that it wasn’t a TV series but a film! I don’t recall catching the actual title of the film so after it had ended, I went to the channel’s website to find out… and it was then when I figured it was Pride and Prejudice.

I remember constantly tuning into Diva Universal in desperate attempt to watch it again because I know I didn’t get to start the film and thought how much I missed out. I got to see it again, fiver days later, but it was already about an hour into the film because everyone was already perfectly acquainted with one another. I lost interest and just watched bits of it. I finally got a copy of the film and watched it for a third time.

Deciding to read the book, I looked it up online and found a PDF version of it. I’d love to have a hard copy of book but it seems the bookstore doesn’t sell it anymore. Whenever I read aloud, I have an awful pronunciation and reading seems tedious so I frequently read silently which helps because I get to read faster (with a touch of British accent) and I have the characters’ voices registered in my head that whenever their lines are spoken, I could hear them saying it, let alone visualizing them, which was very, very fun to do.

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading!”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

During the second day of reading the book, I decided to retire for the night by watching the film. I was extremely delighted to know that their lines were taken from the book. Not entirely but around, say, 95% of it. I was so thrilled and so eager to listen to every word that escaped their lips. I finished reading the book in a span of four days with many interruptions in between. As the pages were getting thinner, the more agitated I became because I didn’t want it to end. My eyes cheat me whensoever I become delirious of wanting to know what is to happen next that when I read such a similar line in the book, I could hardly contain my laughter.

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”
― Jane Austen

It’s funny how before seeing the film on TV, I’ve never heard it being mentioned for years. But after watching the film, I’ve encountered two coincidences of it. Last week, I was randomly watching shows when this British show caught my attention. It seemed like a reality show but I could be mistaken. It was hilarious because they were talking about who Charles Dickens was and what books he had written. One of the girls was so clueless who he was and answered Pride and Prejudice not once but twice. My eyes goggled when she first said it. The guy who was with her answered Winnie The Pooh which was just really funny. They never did know what books were his. Yesterday, I was, again, randomly changing channels when I saw Saoirse Ronan on Cinemax. She was pointing a gun to a lady on the ground and said something just before firing it. Thus, the words HANNA filled the screen and I realized it was a film by Joe Wright, who directed Pride and Prejudice. I watched the whole film this morning on the same channel.

I watched the Pride and Prejudice 2005 film after finishing the entire book of the thought that the book is still fresh in my memory. My grin grew larger every time I heard a familiar line from the book. However, it made me feel like everything was rushed [and people who haven’t read the book yet would be lost and confused] because you have to squeeze everything into a limited amount of time. It’s not a series wherein you have ample time to go through everything as you desire. At first, I was confused why Lydia had to go to Brighton, who the Forsters were, reason to Wickham and Lydia’s elopement  why Wickham chose to marry Lydia despite the knowledge that he couldn’t get a ton of money from her, et cetera. Reading the book has definitely enlightened my knowledge about the occurring events in the film. It’s great to see how Joe Wright decided to change a couple of scenes like how Mr. Darcy ran after Lizzy in the rain and where his first proposal to her took place to make it a little bit more dramatic and romantic. I would have loved to see more of the minor characters in the book though, like The Gardiners, Georgiana and especially Colonel Fitzwilliam Darcy. I laughed my ass off when I learned that Colonel Fitzwilliam and Lizzy were attracted to each other! XD I would love to have seen it in the film but I suppose in doing so, the story probably would’ve shifted away from Mr. Darcy and I know that they were trying to tell the story through Lizzy’s eyes, which is why we see Mr. Darcy as being an insolent ass [not smiling for a number of times like he does in the book] and doesn’t admit that he was drawn by her “pair of fine eyes” as we had to wait further to see how Mr. Darcy was slowly being bewitched by Lizzy.

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”
― Jane Austen, Pride And Prejudice

So far, I’ve seen the film five times now and it just makes me want to read the book again. My friend owns one, which is fantastic, and will be lending it to me as soon as we meet. I am practically addicted to Pride and Prejudice as of the moment. I have decided to put in my bucket list to visit the locations where they shot the film. It’s a bold move but I really want to visit those places! I might not be able to visit all of them but as long as I feel their presence and warmth, it will suffice my desire. I’ve searched the Internet for behind the scenes videos, photos, interviews, documentaries, soundtrack album, etc., oh, and even for the film script!

“But for my own part, if a book is well written, I always find it too short.”
― Jane Austen

I’m excited to watch the television series of Pride and Prejudice because as from what I’ve heard, it’s more accurate to the book and a lot of people seem to really like it. This is the part where I wish the film had been made into a television series. I’ve read on various webpages how some people tend to lean further with the 1995 mini-series of Pride and Prejudice because as mentioned earlier, it is more accurate to the book and as well as the Regency Era. That, my friends, is what an adaptation can do. They say that the 2005 film is downright awful and has had many to say like how Elizabeth isn’t supposed to let her hair down when she visited Jane at Netherfield Park or when Caroline Bingley shouldn’t have worn a sleeveless gown during the ball at Netherfield. Now I’m really exhilarated to watch the 1995 television series for I dearly love the book. Whether to believe which adaptation is better is for myself to see.

“Do not give way to useless alarm; though it is right to be prepared for the worst, there is no occasion to look on it as certain.”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Watching the film repeatedly has made me observe the little details that the actors put into their characters and some goofs as well. I like how it has that long, continuous shot at the beginning of the film inside the Bennets’ house and at Netherfield Park with the characters plodding off into different rooms and then focusing on another character who is in that specific room. It’s fun to see how they’re scattered all over the place and they pass each other with a different story to tell.

It’s just too bad I’ve actually taken a serious liking to this film seven years later after its release but as the saying goes, better late than never.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

xx(L)

Leave a Reply

